Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Civil and Environmental Engineering
 

DEPARTMENTAL STAFF

Maria Corcuera
Office Assistant, International Visitors & Seminar 
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6161 |  Mariacorcuera@rice.edu

Melissa J. Elias
Department Coordinator
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6210 |  Melissa.j.elias@rice.edu

Eric Jordan
Sr. Departmental Administrator
116E Keck Hall | (713) 348-4699 | Eric.h.jordan@rice.edu

Jennifer Mashburn
Department & Undergraduate Coordinator & Asst. to the Chair 
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-4656 |  Jm9@rice.edu 

Daniel Neumann
Ryon Lab Technician
104 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-4335 |  Adn1@rice.edu  

Andrea Torres
Graduate Programs Coordinator   
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-2353 |  Atorres@rice.edu  
 

CENTER STAFF

BRINE CONSORTIUM

Shu-Hua Wang
Assistant to Dr. Tomson
119A Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 |  Scw1@rice.edu 

NEWT CENTER

Ernie Davis
Industrial Liason Officer
263 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6214 |  Ernest.m.davis@rice.edu

Matt Hotze
Administrative Director
264 Mech Lab | (713) 348-3866 |  Matt.hotze@rice.edu

Liz Scroggins
Executive Assistant
200 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6398 |  Liz.scroggins@rice.edu 

Sen Wang
Research Scientist
B28 Ryon Lab  | Sen.wang@rice.edu

RICE GLOBAL E&C FORUM

Angela Smith
Temporary Conference Assistant
205 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6340 |  Avsmith@rice.edu

SSPEED CENTER

Erin Baker
Program Coordinator
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4977 |  Erin.baker@rice.edu 

Rik Hovinga
Research Engineer
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4977| Hovinga@rice.edu  

Megan Goings
Temporary Office Manager
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4951 |  Megan.e.goings@rice.edu

Frances Kellerman
Research Engineer 
116 Mech Lab | (713) 348-2306 |  Frances.a.kellerman@rice.edu

Ashlie Krowski
Office Assistant
113 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4951 |  Ashlie.r.krowski@rice.edu


LAB GROUP STAFF

Cory Schwartz
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | Cory.schwarz@rice.edu


RESEARCH SCIENTISTS

Yulin Chen
Shahsavari Group
217 Ryon Lab | Yulin.chen@rice.edu

Beata Czadar

Cohan Group
116 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2218 | Bczader@rice.edu

Marcio Luis Busi Da Silva 
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | Silva@rice.edu

Amy Kan
Tomson Group
119G Keck Hall | (713) 348-5224 | Atk@rice.edu

Jacques Mathieu
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | Mathieu@rice.edu 

Nancy Sanchez Morcote
Griffin Group
124 Keck Hall | (713) 348-3036 | Nps1@rice.edu 

Fangfu Zhang
Tomson Group
119E Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | Fangfu.Zhang@rice.edu

POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCH FELLOWS

Narayan Bhandari 
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | Nb16@rice.edu 

Georgios Balomenos
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab | Georgios.p.balomenos@rice.edu

Ioannis Gidaris
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab | Loannis.Gidaris@rice.edu

Vahid Hejazi
Shahsavari Group
220 Ryon Lab | Vhejazi@rice.edu

Ozkan Kale
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab | Ozkan.kale@rice.edu

Jian Li 
Stadler Group
                    | Jl161@rice.edu 

Gedeng Ruan
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | Gedeng.Ruan@rice.edu

Henry Wallace
Griffin Group
Keck Hall | (713) 348-4949 | Henry.Wallace@rice.edu

Fei Yan
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | Fei.Yan@rice.edu

Yu Yang

Alvarez Group
234D Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | Yy13@rice.edu   

Rui Zhang
Cohan Group
Keck Hall | (713) 348-4909 | Rz10@rice.edu

Visiting Scholars

Hamad Amer Alsaiari
Tomson Group
119E Keck Hall | Hamad.alsaiari@rice.edu

Xiaohui Bi
Griffin Group
124C Keck Hall | Xiaohui.bi@rice.edu

Lijuan Chen
Alvarez Group
234E Keck Hall | Lijuan.cheng@rice.edu

Anil Desireddy
Shahsavari Group
110 Mech Lab | Anil.desireddy@rice.edu

Changzheng Fan
Alvarez Group
234F Keck Hall | Fancz@rice.edu

Naiana Gabiatti

Alvarez Group
224 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 |  Naiana.gabiatti@rice.edu

Zhenjia Gao
Stanciulescu Group
207 Ryon Lab | Zhenjia.gao@rice.edu

Renata A. Goncalves
Alvarez Group
224 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 |  Renata.a.goncalves@rice.edu

Yan Han
Griffin Group
213 Keck Hall | Yan.han@rice.edu 

Zhongming Jiang
Spanos Group
211 Ryon Lab | Zhongming.jiang@rice.edu

Deyi Li
Alvarez Group
234 Keck Hall | Deyi.li@rice.edu

Xueying Li
Shahsavari Group
217 Ryon Lab | Xueyingli@rice.edu

Yanlin Li
Alvarez Group
234 Keck Hall | Yl115@rice.edu

Jun Lu
Li Group
225 Keck Hall | Jl148@rice.edu

ShengMei Wu
Alvarez Group
234D Keck Hall | Shengmei.wu@rice.edu

Gidiane Scaratti
Alvarez Group
224 Keck Hall | Gidiane@rice.edu

Xiaoyan Guo
Li Group
Keck Hall | Xiaoyan.guo@rice.edu

Na Sun
Alvarez Group
234F Keck Hall | Na.sun@rice.edu

Yan Wang
Li Group
Keck Hall | Yw51@rice.edu

Sujin Yean
Tomson Group
119E Keck Hall | Syean@rice.edu

Haiyun Zhang
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | Haiyun.zhang@rice.edu

Chang Xu
Spanos Group
211 Ryon Lab | Xuchang@rice.edu

Pin Zhao
Li Group
214 Keck Hall | Pin.zhao@rice.edu

Hongtao Zhu
Li Group
213A Ryon Lab | Hongtao.zhu@rice.edu