Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Civil and Environmental Engineering
 

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Melissa J. Elias
Department Coordinator 
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6210 | MS 318 | Melissa.j.elias@rice.edu

Eric Jordan
Sr. Departmental Administrator
116E Keck Hall | (713) 348-4699 | MS 519 | Eric.h.jordan@rice.edu

Jennifer Mashburn
Assistant to the Chair 
Department & Undergraduate Coordinator
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-4656 | MS 519 | Jm9@rice.edu   

Daniel Neumann

Ryon Lab Technician
104 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-4335 | MS 318 | Adn1@rice.edu  

Angela Smith
Office Assistant, International Academic Visitors & Events 
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6161 | MS 318 |  Avsmith@rice.edu 

Andrea Torres
Graduate Programs Coordinator   
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-2353 | MS 519 | Atorres@rice.edu  

CENTER STAFF
 

BRINE CHEMISTRY CONSORTIUM

Amy T. Kan
Co-Director
119G Keck Hall | (713) 348-5224 | MS 519 | Amy.T.Kan@rice.edu 

Samridhdi Paudyal 
Research Scientist
119A Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 519 | Sp69@rice.edu

NEWT CENTER

 Ibrahim Abdallah
 Research Engineer
 225 Keck Hall | (573) 466-3837 | MS 6398 | Ibrahim.a.Said@rice.edu

 Ernie Davis
Industrial Liason Officer
263 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6214 | MS 6398 | Ernest.m.davis@rice.edu

Matt Hotze
Administrative Director
264 Mech Lab | (713) 348-3866 | MS 6398 | Matt.hotze@rice.edu  

Jorge Loyo
Associate Director of Education
B30 Ryon Engineering Lab  | (713) 348-8166 | MS 6398 | jorge.loyo@rice.edu  

Liz Scroggins
Program Assistant
200 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6398 | MS 6398 | Liz.scroggins@rice.edu

RICE GLOBAL E&C FORUM

Angela (Angel) Smith
Conference Assistant 
205 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6340 | MS 318 | Avsmith@rice.edu

SSPEED CENTER

Rik Hovinga
Research Engineer
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4977 | MS 317 | Hovinga@rice.edu  

Megan Goings
Office Manager 
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4951 | MS 317 | Meg17@rice.edu

LAB GROUP STAFF

Jason Hope
Complimentary Appointment
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | MS 519 | Jason.hope@rice.edu

Cory Schwarz
Lab Assistant
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Cory.schwarz@rice.edu   
 

ES&T EDITORIAL STAFF

Drahomira Brejchova
Associate Editor
ES&T Journal
261 Mech Lab | MS 316 | (713) 348-5439 |  Drahomira.brejchova@rice.edu 
 

RESEARCH SCIENTISTS

Amy Kan
Exec. Director and Research Scientist
Tomson Group
119G Keck Hall | (713) 348-5224 | MS 519 |  Atk@rice.edu

Jacques Mathieu
Research Scientist
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Mathieu@rice.edu   
  

POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Georgios Balomenos
 Padgett Group 
 217 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Georgios.p.balomenos@rice.edu

Ioannis Gidaris
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab |  MS 318 | Loannis.Gidaris@rice.edu  

Khadouja Harouaka
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 519 | Khadouja@rice.edu

Andrew Juan
Bedient Group
116 Mech Lab | MS 317 | Andrew.juan@rice.edu

Antonia Geerke Sebastian
Bedient Group
115 Mech Lab
| MS 317 | ASebastian@rice.edu

Pingfeng Yu
Alvarez Grop
234D Keck Hall | MS 591 | Pingfeng.Yu@rice.edu
 
Yazhou Xie
DesRoches Group
216 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Yxie@rice.edu   
 

ACADEMIC VISITORS

Russell Blessing
Bedient Group
114 Mech Lab | MS 317 | Russell.B.Blessing@rice.edu
(Present-6/30/18)

Tan Chen
Cohan Group
125 Keck Hall | MS 519 | Tanchen617@rice.edu
(Present-10/22/18)

Zhenjia Gao
Stanciulescu Group 
2017 Ryon Lab  | MS 318 | Zhenjia.gao@rice.edu 
(Present-07/19/18) 

Fan Kong
Spanos Group
211 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Kongfan@rice.edu
(Present-8/31/18)

Mingyang Liu
Alvarez Group
224 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Mingyang.liu@rice.edu   
 (Present - 08/18/19)

Wen Song
Alvarez Group
234 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 |  Wensong815@rice.edu
(Present-9/30/18)

Xiaoju Yan
Li Group
225 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5794 | MS 519 | Xy26@rice.edu
(Present-12/29/18)

Suping Yu
Li Group
225 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5794 | MS 519 |  Dommy@rice.edu
(Present-9/30/18)

Zhiwei Yu
Spanos Group
217 Ryon Lab | MS 318  
(Present-11/30/18)

Liu Yue
Cohan Group
125 Keck Hall | MS 519 | Liuyue@rice.edu
(Present-11/19/18)

Yifei Wang
Academic Visitor
Alvarez Lab Group
U of H Campus Collaborator | Yifei.wang@rice.edu   

Hanwei Zhao
Nagarajaiah Group
217 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Zhw-civil@rice.edu
(Present-10/15/18)