Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Civil and Environmental Engineering
 

DEPARTMENTAL STAFF

Melissa J. Elias
Department Coordinator
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6210 | MS 318 | Melissa.j.elias@rice.edu

Eric Jordan
Sr. Departmental Administrator
116E Keck Hall | (713) 348-4699 | MS 519 | Eric.h.jordan@rice.edu

Jennifer Mashburn
Assistant to the Chair 
Department & Undergraduate Coordinator
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-4656 | MS 519 | Jm9@rice.edu  

Daniel Neumann
Ryon Lab Technician
104 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-4335 | MS 318 | Adn1@rice.edu  

Angela Smith
Office Assistant, International Academic Visitors & Department Seminar 
204 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6161 | MS 318 |  avsmith@rice.edu

Andrea Torres
Graduate Programs Coordinator   
116D Keck Hall | (713) 348-2353 | MS 519 | Atorres@rice.edu  

CENTER STAFF

 

BRINE CHEMISTRY CONSORTIUM

Amy T. Kan
Co-Director
119G Keck Hall | (713) 348-5224 | MS 519 | Amy.T.Kan@rice.edu 

Shu-Hua Wang
Assistant to Dr. Tomson
119A Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 519 | Scw1@rice.edu

NEWT CENTER

Ernie Davis
Industrial Liason Officer
263 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6214 | MS 3698 | Ernest.m.davis@rice.edu

Matt Hotze
Administrative Director
264 Mech Lab | (713) 348-3866 | MS 3698 | Matt.hotze@rice.edu

Changgu Lee
Postdoctoral Research Assistant
234E Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | changgu.lee@rice.edu  

Liz Scroggins
Executive Assistant
200 Mech Lab | (713) 348-6398 | MS 3698 | Liz.scroggins@rice.edu

Sen Wang
Research Scientist
225 Keck Hall | MS 3698 | Sen.wang@rice.edu


RICE GLOBAL E&C FORUM

Angela Smith
Conference Assistant 
205 Ryon Lab | (713) 348-6340 | MS 318 | Avsmith@rice.edu


SSPEED CENTER

Rik Hovinga
Research Engineer
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4977 | MS 317 | Hovinga@rice.edu  

Megan Goings
Office Manager
114 Mech Lab | (713) 348-4951 | MS 317 | meg17@rice.edu

LAB GROUP STAFF

Jason Hope
Complimentary Appointment
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | MS 519 | Jason.hope@rice.edu

Cory Schwarz
Lab Assistant
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | cory.schwarz@rice.edu

Yifei Wang
Complimentary Appointment
Alvarez Lab Group
U of H Campus Collaborator |  yifei.wang@rice.edu


ES&T EDITORIAL STAFF

Drahomira Brejchova
Associate Editor
ES&T Journal
261 Mech Lab | (713) 348-5439 |  Drahomira.brejchova@rice.edu

 
RESEARCH SCIENTISTS

Amy Kan
Exec. Director and Research Scientist
Tomson Group
119G Keck Hall | (713) 348-5224 | MS 519 |  Atk@rice.edu

Jacques Mathieu
Research Scientist
Alvarez Group
228 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Mathieu@rice.edu 

Nancy Sanchez Morcote
Research Scientist
Griffin Group
124 Keck Hall | (713) 348-3036 | MS 519 | Nps1@rice.edu 


POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCH FELLOWS

Georgios Balomenos
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Georgios.p.balomenos@rice.edu

Ioannis Gidaris
Padgett Group
217 Ryon Lab |  MS 318 | Loannis.Gidaris@rice.edu

Sourav Gur
DesRoches Group
216 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | (Arrival Sept. 2017)
 

Khadouja Harouaka
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 318 | Khadouja@rice.edu

Andrew Juan
Bedient Group
116 Mech Lab | MS 317 | Andrew.juan@rice.edu

Wei Li
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 318 | (Arrival Sept 2017)

Mingyan Liu
Alvarez Group
Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | (Arrival Oct 2017)
 

Gedeng Ruan
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 318 | Gedeng.Ruan@rice.edu

Henadirage Dushanee Sriyarathne 
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 318 | (Arrival Sept 2017)

Srivishnu Mohan Venkata Vemuru
Nagarajaiah Group
221 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | svv1@rice.edu
 

Henry Wallace
Griffin Group
Keck Hall | (713) 348-3036 | MS 519 | Henry.Wallace@rice.edu  

Fei Yan
Tomson Group
119 Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 519 | Fei.Yan@rice.edu

Yu Yang

Alvarez Group
234D Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Yy13@rice.edu

Xie Yazhou
DesRoches Group
216 Ryon Labl | MS 318 | Yxie@rice.edu   

ACADEMIC VISITORS

 

 

Lijuan Cheng 
Alvarez Group
234E Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Lijuan.cheng@rice.edu
Present-12/12/17

Yiyi Chu
Tomson Group
119E Keck Hall | (713) 348-2149 | MS 519 | Yc95@rice.edu
Present-?

Naiana Cristine Gabiatti
Alvarez Group
234E Keck Hall | MS 519 | (713) 348-5187 | Naiana.gabiatti@rice.edu  
Present-10/09/17
 

Zhenjia Gao
Stanciulescu Group
207 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Zhenjia.gao@rice.edu
Present-12/31/17

Zunaira Habib
Li Lab Group
Keck Hall | (713) 348-5794 | MS 519 | zh18@rice.edu
Present-11/04/17

Wenlin Jia
Li Group
214 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5794 | MS 519 | wenlin.jia@rice.edu
Present-01/31/18

Zhongming Jiang
Spanos Group
211 Ryon Lab | MS 318 | Zhongming.jiang@rice.edu
Present-03/31/18

Deyi Li
Alvarez Group
234 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Deyi.li@rice.edu
Present-09/30/18

Xueying Li
Li Group
225 Keck Hall | MS 519 | Xueyingli@rice.edu
Present-07/18/17

Solange Utimura 
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Solange.utimura@rice.edu
Present-12/29/17

ShengMei Wu
Alvarez Group
234D Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Shengmei.wu@rice.edu
Present-08/29/17

Yichang Yu
Alvarez Group
223 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Yichang.yu@rice.edu 
Present-09/14/17

Haiyun Zhang
Alvarez Group 
223 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Haiyun.zhang@rice.edu
Present-12/14/17

Pin Zhao
Li Group
214 Keck Hall | (713) 348-5794 | MS 519 | Pin.zhao@rice.edu
Present-12/28/18

Qiu Zhigang 
Alvarez Group
234D Keck Hall | (713) 348-5187 | MS 519 | Qiu.zhigang@rice.edu
Present-12/06/17